RACE, NOT SCAR

Posted: January 15, 2015 by TheBrontide in Politics & emerging issues
Tags: , ,

Made of Black was a trend for what again? Forgive my ignorance. I was very surprised when I discovered that it was carried by the full weight of Guinness. If I had to guess, I would have thought it was more of a celebration of Mandela or Martin Luther King. Don’t ask me why.

race1

The height, eh?

I just want to share my opinion, briefly, about this race affair. I saw a rather disturbing picture on twitter that I can no longer seem to find. You might have seen it too. The one of a black face being torn to reveal a white face. Oh, you have? You need not watch 12 Years A Slave to realise the magnitude of segregation by colour. In fact, The Watsons Go To Birmingham did that well for me. The movie is good: not Oscar-good but just enough to show how it was long before us. The picture above is a perfect summary.

It was a full-fledged war, unlike the laughable Azealia-Azalea fiasco. Wouldn’t you get annoyed if the valet at the restaurant where you planned to propose to your girlfriend told you ‘your type’ wasn’t welcome? Or what if you go to a cinema and the guy at the ticket stand reminds you to go through the back? You’d most likely laugh and say, “Guy, you’re funny o!” mistaking it for a joke. Truth is, lets just be grateful for the privilege by disproving the racism-borne whispers that we are criminals and never-do-wells. I won’t even touch the Eric Garner or Michael Brown matter. Those stories exhaust my heart.

That said, it is imperative that you remember that ‘black’ is the term for our race. It is not a scar or an ugly wound you should attempt to cover up. When you begin to slip up, remember that Obama is black, Rosa Parks was black and Queen Bey is black. Some questions that bother me are:                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     1. Who made white skin the standard? I mean did our fore-fathers not have a right to be prejudiced against theirs? Think about it. ‘Your colour differs from mine, hence you’re not as good as me.’ So why did our old men not think to take a stand first? After all God did not create Caucasians and the likes first.

2. Our cultures and traditions were backward but what made theirs attractive enough for us to pursue at the detriment of ours? This goes as far as our preference for weaves, light-skinned women(disclaimer here!), technology and the list goes on. Why didn’t our ancestors choose blissful ignorance? Not that I’m complaining though, I’m just genuinely curious and I would really appreciate your insights. Now, I will leave you with wise words.

W

Comments
  1. Wonderful Arinola, I’d love to have a chat with you.

    Like

  2. Bayowa says:

    Colour,not a scar.Nice writeup.

    Like

  3. The Wailing Wall. says:

    Interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

