THE CHILDHOOD STEREOTYPES

Posted: May 24, 2015 by Dorian in Relationship & Friendship
Tags: , ,

image

     Sometimes ago, a very good friend of mine wrote something like this on his Facebook page: “I’m thankful my childhood was full of beautiful memories of playing in the sand and wasn’t about how many likes I could
get on a selfie”. When I saw it, I smirked and hit the ‘like’ button.

     You see, he highlighted the common two types of childhoods:
1. the one without Androids & iPhone, where you hang out with friends, play football, go swimming and climbing.
2. the one where you live practically on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter and you’re always glued to your phone.
Well, that’s really cool.

     Truth is, there’s a third group. Yeah. This is my group. My childhood was spent practically inside my house. We were technically hoarded. I didn’t have any childhood friend I played at home with, no sleepovers, nor smartphones either. There were only three things I had: books, my siblings and TV.

     I think this was how my undying love for fiction started. When I was in primary school and much more younger, I’d always look forward to holidays. Reason? I’d get to read all the stories I want. I started writing at that time too. I remember making up ridiculous stories and writing them.

     So now, when my friends and I converse, I’m always fascinated by how much fun their childhood was. Although they have little scars to show for it, they loved it. Wait! Who cares whether my childhood was all about books, stories and high test scores? It was really fun too, in my own way.

     I really don’t feel bad about it. We all can’t have the same story. I still love to write now and I’m a bit better at it (I have a smartphone now too…haha!), however, I’d love to play football or go climbing trees someday too!
     What was your childhood like?
    

Comments
  1. mesoade says:

    Mine was jez like yours . . . No birthdays,No going out,no hide and seek,sneaks outside to play football,and when caught,was beating mercilessly. . .

    Like

  2. Emmanuel says:

    Nice….. every do go through different life experiences

    Like

  3. distinctionayo says:

    I had d opportunity 2 play football, did some acrobatics stunts, I went swimming, my dad even taught me how to play the guitar when I should be preparing for my WAEC, I disliked books even till now but I surrounded myself with guys that love reading so they kept me inspired… I was never scolded 4 any of d results I got from schl, but my mom once told me that me going 2 schl is bcus of my self interest, that I’m not goin there 2 impress her… So true, if I was a billionaire 2day my Gfs would enjoy me more than my mom 2 some extent

    Like

  4. Bishopbrains says:

    true talk and story

    Like

Leave a Reply

